NBI joins the LIGO Scientific Collaboration

The LIGO Scientific Collaboration was responsible for the discovery of gravitational waves from coalescing black holes in 2015, which granted the founders of the project the Nobel Prize in physics in 2017. Since then about 100 other detections have been recorded, including a multi-messenger binary neutron star and neutron star black hole collisions. The LIGO detectors were joined by the Virgo detector in 2017 and the KAGRA detector in 2019, forming a global detector network.

Led by Strong group Assistant Professor Jose Maria Ezquiaga, the Niels Bohr Institute is now a member of the LIGO Scientific Collaboration. This represents the first LIGO group in Denmark and will join an international association with more than 1500 members, 120 institutions and 20 countries. As part of the collaboration, group members have direct access to the gravitational wave data and can participate in the data analysis, being a direct player of upcoming discoveries.

The NBI-LIGO group includes also Juno Chan, Rico Lo, Miao Shang and Luka Vujeva.

Stay tuned for more news to come about results from the ongoing fourth observing run!

Jan. 4, 2024, 4 p.m.